Report on the 3rd WACBE Congress

The 3rd WACBE World Congress on Bioengineering was indeed a global event. We had close to 300 participants from 30 countries around the world gathering in exotic Bangkok for 3 wonderful days of scientific exchanges. We are grateful to the Prof Dr Yongyuth Yuthavong, Minister of Science and Technology of Thailand who graciously gave the Opening Address, followed by Prof Savio Woo (Pittsburgh) who gave an inspiring Congress Lecture. Prof Abraham Lee (UC Irvine) and Masahiro Sokabe (Nagoya) in their Plenary Lectures presented exciting possibilities in bioengineering at both the micro and nano levels. In addition, we had 20 Keynote Presentations from very prominent bioengineers and scientists. There were 40 oral paper sessions organized into 4 parallel tracks and 94 poster papers. Apart from the scientific presentations, the congress was treated to Traditional Thai Dances by the students of Mahidol University at the Gala Banquet. It was a highly successful congress thanks to the hard working organizing committee members from Singapore and Thailand, as well as guidance from the WACBE Council. We are also thankful to the sponsors and exhibitors, their contribution allowed us to provide extremely low registration fees for bona fide students to attend the congress. We also had a rare opportunity, thanks to Prof Dr Pairash Thajchayapong (NSTDA’s Specialist and Senior Advisor) who specially arranged for some of the WACBE Council members to have an audience with Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn at the Sra Pathum Palace. Her Royal Highness has a special interest in bioengineering, in particular its application in improving healthcare. I believe the 3rd WACBE World Congress on Bioengineering was a memorable event for many where old ties were renewed and new friendships were established.

Continue Reading

Congress Organizing Committee Meeting

A preliminary Organizing Committee Meeting for the 4th WACBE World Congress on Bioengineering was held in Hong Kong Polytechnic University. The meeting was chaired by Professor Arthur Mak, who is the Chair of the Congress.

(From left: Zong-Ming Li, Lin Qing, Ming Zhang, Arthur Mak, Kai-Ming Chan, Ed Wu, Thomas Lee, Parco Siu, Mo Yang)

Continue Reading

First WACBE Council

WACBE concludes the election of the first council. The council members are: Savio Woo (President), Arthur Mak (President-Elect), Zong-Ming Li (Secretary), Ming Zhang (Secretary-Elect), Ed Guo (Treasurer), Zhongping Chen (Treasurer-Elect), Congress Chairs (Yi-Min Hu and James Goh), and six Councilors (Cheng-Kung Cheng, Xiaoping Hu, Kam Leong, Yubo Fan, Zonglai Jiang, and Zhipei Liang).

Continue Reading